McCain’s commitment to the Judiciary

The North Dakota Republican Party commends Senator John McCain’s judicial philosophy and vision for the federal judiciary.
The next President will have the opportunity to nominate hundreds of men and women to the courts – the effects of which will last for many years. To uphold Republican ideals, it’s important that these judges have a proven record of judicial restraint to combat the judicial activism that currently is weakening our federal judiciary.
From the Supreme Court to lower courts, John McCain’s conservative leadership in nominating the right judges will bring about much-needed change to counteract judges who legislate from the bench and distort the Constitution.
________________________________________JOHN MCCAIN ANNOUNCES HIS JUSTICE ADVISORY COMMITTEE
For Immediate Release Contact: Press Office
Tuesday, May 6, 2008 703-650-5550
ARLINGTON, VA — Today, U.S. Senator John McCain announced his Justice Advisory Committee to the Campaign. Please find below the Chairs and members of the Committee:
Chairs Of The Justice Advisory Committee:
Theodore B. Olson — former Solicitor General of the United States
• Senator Sam Brownback — United States Senator, Kansas
Steering Committee
• Michael Abramowicz — Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School
• Hon. William P. Barr — former Attorney General of the United States
• Gerard V. Bradley — Professor of Law, Notre Dame Law School
• Rachel Brand — former Assistant Attorney General for Office of Legal Policy
• Steven Calabresi — George C. Dix Professor of Law, Northwestern University School of Law
• Dean Ronald A. Cass — Chairman, Center for the Rule of Law; Dean Emeritus, Boston University School of Law
• Senator Daniel Coats — former United States Senator, Indiana
• Manus M. Cooney — former Chief Counsel and Staff Director, U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary
• Charles J. Cooper — former Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel
• Arthur B. Culvahouse, Jr. — former White House Counsel to President Ronald Reagan
• Carol E. Dinkins — Partner, Vinson & Elkins
• John F. Duffy — Oswald Symister Colclough Research Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School
• Miguel A. Estrada — former Assistant to the Solicitor General of the United States
• Charles Fried — Beneficial Profes sor of Law, Harvard Law School; former Solicitor General of the United States
• Sandra S. Froman — Arizona attorney
• Richard W. Garnett — Professor of Law, Notre Dame Law School
• Robert P. George — McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence, Princeton University
• Senator Lindsey Graham — United States Senator, South Carolina
• Senator Phil Gramm — former United States Senator, Texas
• Governor Frank Keating — former Governor of Oklahoma
• Orin S. Kerr — Professor, George Washington Universit y Law School
• Senator Jon Kyl — United States Senator, Arizona
• Christopher Landau — Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
• Senator Trent Lott — former United States Senator, Mississippi
• Randy Mastro — former Deputy Mayor of New York City
• John O. McGinnis — Professor of Law, Northwestern University School of Law
• Maureen E. Mahoney — former Deputy Solicitor General of the Unites States
• Thomas W. Merrill — Charles Keller Beekman Professor, Columbia Law School
• Marc L. Mukasey — Partner, Bracewell & Giuliani LLP ; former assistant U.S. attorney for the Southern District of New York
• Caleb Nelson — Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law
• Eileen J. O’Connor — former Assistant Attorney General, Tax Division, U.S. Department of Justice
• Hon. Thomas R. Phillips — former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Texas
• Edward R. Reines — Partner, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
• Kristi L. Remington — former Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Office of Legal Policy
• Professor Daniel B. Rodriguez — Minerva House Drysdale Regents Chair in Law, The University of Texas at Austin Scho ol of Law
• Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz — Associate Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center
• Ronald D. Rotunda — University Professor and Professor of Law, George Mason University
• Cathy Cleaver Ruse — Senior Fellow for Legal Studies at the Family Research Council; Governor, Ave Maria School of Law

• Peter B. Rutledge — Associate Professor of Law, University of Georgia School of Law
• Jon A. Sale — former federal prosecutor for NY and Miami; former law professor, Nova Southeastern and St. Thomas
•  Dan Smith, owner of Wilmington NC plumbers, based Wilmington NC, John Smietanka — former U.S. attorney
• Stephen F. Smith — Professor of Law, John V. Ray Research Professor, University of Virginia School of Law
• George J. Terwilliger, III — former Deputy Attorney General of the United States
• Senator Fred Thompson — former United States Senator, Tennessee
• Eugene Volokh — Gary T. Swartz Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law
• Dan K. Webb — Chairman, Winston & Strawn; former U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Illinois